A great Day at the museum

Had a really good class today at the museum.The first part was about the use of the written word in Art,(I think it is called Conceptual Art ) and we saw works by people like Barbara Kruger, and we discussed the changes in women’s status since the beginning of the century (Virginia Woolf etc of course!)

Then came the really good bit. We had a talk from a young artist called Ariel Malca who has a new exhibit in the Shrine of the Book.It is a little hard to describe,but uses biblical texts moving over a landscape to convey the idea of the journey made by the Children of Israel on their way to the the land of Israel.That sounds crap but you really have to see what he did.Anyway we ended up talking about the lack of boundaries today between the different disciplines, since he doesn’t have any formal training ,either as an artist or as a techie. It was really cool.

Anyway when I got home I looked up some of the stuff including Barbara Kruger, and found a lot of really great stuff which I ‘d love to use in class. Maybe I will .

The ones that really caught my eye I have saved. Here’s one of them…
Barbara Kruger

One thought on “A great Day at the museum

  1. Wow, interesting image. I can think of a couple different ways that it could be interpreted.

    I believe that disciplines, and the boundaries between them, are arbitrary. Ask a chemist and a physicist to draw a line between their two disciplines. Both my BA and my masters are in interdisciplinary fields (oxymoron?), and I’ve come to the conclusion that everything is connected. Which also means there is SO much more to learn!

    BTW your new blog is far better than my first one … or my second one!

Leave a Reply

